NEW FACES, NEW SPACES

By Marcia A. Johnson, Director Minnesota Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility

Reprinted from Bench & Bar of Minnesota (April 1995)

Effective February 1, 1995, the Minnesota Supreme Court has appointed nine new members to serve on the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. The board is composed of 23 volunteer members - a chairperson, 13 lawyers and 9 public members.

Board members act in a variety of capacities to serve the disciplinary system. Acting as a whole, the board sets policy, issues opinions on questions of professional responsibility, and generally oversees the director's office (e.g. approval of the annual budget). Members serving in three-person panels conduct hearings (admonition appeals, probable cause for public discipline, and reinstatement matters). Board members individually decide complainant appeals.

An executive committee, consisting of the board chair, two lawyers and two public members is responsible for supervision of the director's office and carrying out the duties set out in the Rules on Lawyers Professional Responsibility. Executive committee members do not serve on panels or review complainant appeals. Board members are appointed for three-year terms and may be reappointed to a second term. The MSBA nominates 6 of the 13 lawyer members.

The following is a brief introduction to all of the members of the board:

- GREGORY M. BISTRAM, appointed board chairperson effective February 1, 1992, has served on the board since 1987. He served on the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee prior to being appointed to the board. He is a litigation attorney in the Minneapolis office of Briggs & Morgan.
- NANCY MCLEAN is vice-chair of the board, and serves on the executive committee. She was appointed to the board in 1991. She has worked at the Hennepin County Attorney's Office since 1984. Prior to that she worked as an assistant director in the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility.
- RICHARD ABRAM has been a public member for four years. He served on the 11th District Ethics Committee from 1984 to 1990. He was owner and operator of two women's retail stores in Duluth for many years. He has held office in many civic groups, including the Chamber of Commerce, the Boy Scouts of America, and the Duluth Retail Merchants Association.
- JOHN BRIAN III is a new member of the board. He previously served on the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee. He is a lawyer at the Robins, Kaplan firm in St. Paul.
- LYLE BOURDON has been a public member of the board since 1990. He is retired, having worked at First Bank Systems for many years, 11 as president of a First Bank in Duluth.
- WILLIAM CARTER JR. has been a public member since 1991. He served on the Ramsey County District

Ethics Committee for six years prior to being appointed to the board. He has been an associate with the Equitable Life Assurance Society since 1967. He is past president of the St. Paul Junior Chamber of Commerce and the 1994 recipient of the Law Day Liberty Bell Award, awarded by Ramsey County.

- JOHN EDWARDS II has been a public member since 1993. He served on the Hennepin County District Ethics Committee prior to joining the board. He is a special agent with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, currently serving with the U. S. Treasury Department. He is active in many civic groups, including the Metropolitan Council, the Minority Issues Advisory Committee, and the Dakota County Chamber of Commerce.
- THOMAS D. FEINBERG is a new member of the board, nominated by the MSBA. He is a lawyer at Leonard, Street and Deinard. He served on the Hennepin County District Ethics Committee for many years. He serves as a member of the executive council of the Business Law Section of the MSBA, and as chair of the Business and Professional Corporations Committee.
- JAMES P. HILL is a newly appointed public member. He is retired, having served for 37 years in law enforcement, public safety, and city management. He is the chairperson of the Metro Area City Managers' Police Chief Advisory Committee and has served a variety of civic organizations, including the United Way Steering Committee.
- JANET JOHNSON was appointed to the board as a public member effective February 1993. She served on the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee prior to joining the board. She was the marketing director for the Amherst Wilder Foundation from 1978 to 1993 and she is also a licensed real estate broker.
- KIRK KLECKNER is a new public member on the board. He is a CPA at Wilkerson, Guthmann & Johnson. He has served on the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee and a variety of civic organizations, including the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, Rotary, and Winter Carnival Association.
- WILLIAM M. KRONSCHNABEL is a new member of the board, nominated by the MSBA. He served for nine years as a member of the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee. He is a real estate litigator at the St. Paul firm of Kampmeyer, Kronschnabel and Bader. He has been a referee of the Ramsey County Conciliation Court since 1980 and an arbitrator for the Hennepin County District Court since 1985.
- CHARLES LUNDBERG, an MSBA nominee, has been on the board since 1991. He is now a member of the executive committee of the board. He is a lawyer at the Minneapolis firm of Bassford, Lockhart, Truesdell & Briggs, P.A. Prior to coming on the board, he served for many years on the Hennepin County Ethics Committee.
- NICHOLAS OSTAPENKO was appointed to the board effective February 1993. He is a lawyer with the Duluth firm of Johnson, Killen, Thibodeau & Seiler. He was a member of the 11th District Ethics Committee from 1985 and served as the chair for several years prior to joining the board.
- FREDERICK RAMOS is a member of the board, nominated by the MSBA. He practices civil law with the Bloomington firm of Candlin, Wright & Bresnahan. Prior to that he was a Ramsey County Assistant Public Defender. He is the president of the Minnesota Hispanic Bar Association.

- SHARON REICH is a new member of the board, nominated by the MSBA. She is an assistant dean for admissions, placement and administration at the University of Minnesota Law School. Prior to assuming her current position she was a lawyer with the Minneapolis firm of Faegre & Benson. She has served on the MSBA Rules of Professional Conduct Committee.
- KATHLEEN SHERAN has been a public member of the board since 1989 and is on the executive committee. She is a psychotherapist, practicing in Mankato. She is president and elected member of the Mankato City Council, a City Charter Commission member, and Transit Advisory Committee member.
- GENEVIEVE ("GIX") UBEL was appointed to the board as a public member in 1990 and is on the executive committee. She served for four years on the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee. She graduated from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1954 and worked as an engineer for several years before "retiring" to raise her family.
- MIKE VADNIE has been on the board since 1991 as an MSBA nominee. He is in private practice, as well as being a professor of journalism and ethics at St. Cloud State University. He is on the MSBA Bar-Media Committee.
- JOAN VOLZ was appointed to the board in 1993. She serves as in-house counsel for US West Communications, where she has worked since 1986. Prior to that she was chief counsel for the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. She was a member of the Ramsey County District Ethics Committee prior to coming on the board and has been an active member of the Minneapolis Rotary.

The director's office of the Lawyers Board moved to its new location in the Judicial Building effective December 1, 1994. Our new address is: Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility, Suite 105, 25 Constitution Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55155. Our phone and fax remain the same: (612) 296-3952, 1-800-657-3601, Fax (612) 297-5801.